Carlo Gambino – Rock ‘n’ Roll Circus EP – Out Now on Evasive Digital

Available exclusively on Stompy:
Available from all other digital outlets,including Beatport, on 4th July

Evasive warmly welcomes Leeds steadfast DJ, promoter and producer Carlo Gambino to the fold. Since his first release, Together, in 2005, Mr. Gambino has enjoyed a chain of successful remixes and original material released on labels 3am, Blunted Funk, Tokyo Red, Presslab, Papstec, Heartbeat Revolutions, Electronique and Look Ahead; and with more in the pipeline for 2011 on 20:20 Soundsystem and Area38 it seems there is no holding him back. In addition to his solo and remix projects, Carlo has also been collaborating with Breakout Audio’s Donna Beatz as ‘Gambino & Beatz’. It is then with great pleasure the Evasive presents his first release for the label.

Entitled Rock ‘n’ Roll Circus, this EP has a distinct Old Skool flava. Carlo is in fine form, effortlessly merging ‘old with new’, taking us on a dope retro journey with his fluent fusion of 80’s & 90’s Chicago, Detroit, New York and London with the 21st Century.

First off the starting block is title track Rock n Roll Circus, a phat Hip House tune with a New York rap flowing over a 4/4 beat. With its bumping bassline, spot fx and melodic synth loops this track would sound as much at home bustin’ from a ghetto blaster on a Bronx street corner hood as it would thumping out of a London club PA system. Note to Self, a jackin’ tribute to the Old Skool, with trusty 808 drums and vocal sample, wouldn’t sound out of place in a Chicago warehouse, while The Pulse, a dope filthy House tune with dubby stabs and fx, and a ragga vox sample, is reminiscent of those legendary South London soundsytems. Last up is Bodega, which completes the EP rather nicely with another all-round dose of Old Skool jackin’ House with more 808 drums, synths, stabs and stuttered vox sample.

DJ Support from Robert Owens, Anderson Noise, Nils Hess, Magnus Asberg (C-Soul), Al Bradley (3am), BERNY, Greg Eversoul (End Up), Demi, Denis A, Gee Moore, Jay Dynan, Jota Wagner, Chris Udoh, Lucas Hulan (Nightphunk), Mark Gwinnett (Cubism), Matthew Craig (DSWW), Mike Kiraly, Murray Richardson, Nick & Danny Chatelain, Nik Feral, Ray Colclough (MHYH / Beat 103FM), Richard ‘Merlyn’ Martin, Richard Belsom (Zeitgeist), Robin Ball (Socialeyes), Simon (Deep South Audio), Simon Page (House FM) and more.

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.